Historic site and monument
in Malvières

Château privé de Folgoux

Located about 4 km from La Chaise-Dieu, on the edge of beautiful fir forests, Folgoux is home to a small private 14th century castle listed on the Supplementary Inventory of Historic Monuments which dominates the Livradois plain.
The lordship of Folgoux is attested in 1318, and depended on the high justice of the abbey of Chaise-Dieu. The first known lord would be Géraud de Felgoux, in the XNUMXth century, who was succeeded by the Marcland family “lords of Fiaugoux and partly of Malvières”.
The castle was probably built in 1344, the date written on the wall. The castle was burned and pillaged around 1590 during the Wars of Religion. Some old elements remain, such as the kitchen fireplace, the square tower with its spiral staircase and the window. The building was rebuilt at the beginning of the 17th century. In 1785, the owner refurnished it.
Registration by order of June 21, 1994 to the Historic Monuments.
To the left of the entrance to the castle, we discover a very beautiful cross on a 17th century shaft, with, on the front, a Christ, and on the back, a virgin. The estate consists of a fortified house with outbuildings and gardens. A gate gives access to a first courtyard surrounded by outbuildings to the east and west. It is closed to the north by a low wall and a gate which gives access to a second interior courtyard delimited on the west side by the extension of the outbuildings, on the north side by the residential building and on the east side by the low wall and the gate of the garden. The castle itself, rectangular in plan, is made up of the juxtaposition of two adjacent buildings. The first, to the west, represents the primitive habitation; the second is garnished in its center with a square staircase tower. A low round tower, located at the southeast corner, houses the chapel. The gardens were formerly laid out in the French style. Inside the castle, decorations from the 18th and XNUMXth centuries.
Further information) :
Only visible outdoors
Tips and Suggestions

To discover on the route of the PR 103 "Folgoux and the Arboretum" hike

We speak French

Themes:

  • Historical patrimony
  • Castle of

Opening

Opening hours from January 01 to December 31, 2024
MondayOpen
TuesdayOpen
WednesdayOpen
ThursdayOpen
FridayOpen
SaturdayOpen
SundayOpen
to discover from the outside

Prices

no interior visit
Free

Services

Equipments

  • Parking nearby

Linked offers

On the spot…

Address

Folgoux
43160 Malvières
How do I get there?

Was this content useful to you?